Slow Down

after the rainHello :)

I think that being a college student qualifies me to say I know what it’s like to be busy.  There are just sooo many things I have to do!  And they all have due dates!  A lot of times I get so caught up in the motions of college life I totally forget that this college life is, first of all, LIFE.

I’m not the only one guilty of this.  So many people around me seem to just go from sunrise to sunset on autopilot, without really “being there.”  It’s a sad truth that could be said about nearly everyone these days.  People, I don’t know how to say it more clearly, IT’S OK TO SLOW DOWN.  For a minute, for five minutes throughout the day, just stop and catch your breath.  Life is flying by, and not a second of it can be reversed.  I’m not saying we should all quit our jobs and go sit in the field staring at the sky.  But do yourself a favor and learn to pause sometimes.

I was walking from one campus to another this morning.  The rain had stopped for a while, and everything was wet. That’s where my pause was today.  I stopped by an evergreen tree because it seemed to be covered with glitters.  It was early in the morning, just past the sunrise, and every single droplet seemed to reflect the rays of the sun.  It was simply beautiful 🙂  And then I realized how much beauty I ignore by rushing through my daily chores.  The world did not collapse because I stopped by a tree between my classes.  Nobody died, nobody suffered any loss.  Nobody would benefit if I arrived to class a minute earlier (I was actually about 20 minutes early anyway lol).  Bottom line is, no one got hurt, including me.  If I passed by, however, I probably wouldn’t feel as refreshed when I finally arrived to my English class 🙂

I don’t agree with people who say not to take life seriously.  DO take life seriously!  Make sure that it doesn’t slip away from you as you’re stuck behind your books, office desk, kitchen counter, or the wheel.  Take your breaks.  And as a nice by-product of slowing down, enjoy the freshness and energy bursts that will help you accomplish your tasks  more efficiently.

🙂 Take care!


Leave a Reply

